Friday, April 07, 2006


R. Yaakov Menken posts about Qinoa and asks if anyone knows of rabbinic positions on the subject (link). I have in my possession (but cannot share it right now) a responsum by R. Yisrael Belsky in which he rules that Qinoa and similar products (e.g. Amaranth) have the status of kitniyos and may not be eaten by Ashkenazim on Passover. I have just confirmed that R. Hershel Schachter disagrees and permits these products.

I have been informed that that the OU's policy is past years has been that since Qinoa is shipped next to wheat and other chometz products, one would need to check each individual kernel carefully to make certain that there was no stray wheat kernels among the quinoa.

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Favorites More